¡Todos a una! 16 New Members Inducted into The Sociedad Honoraria Hispánica

¡Todos a una!

16 Indian Creek students were inducted into The Sociedad Honoraria Hispánica (Spanish Honor Society – SHS), in a meaningful ceremony during the All School meeting on Tuesday, December 11. SHS is a student association that promotes the study of the Spanish language and culture, under the motto "All Together for One Goal" The Society was founded by the American Association of Teachers of Spanish and Portuguese in 1953. The Indian Creek Chapter was established in 2009.

To become or remain a member, students must be currently enrolled in a Spanish class or have reached the AP level. They must also keep a GPA of at least 3.5 and 80% in their Spanish class. Building community is a key element for the Indian Creek SHS chapter. The students have offered an activity every year during CreekFest and visited early childhood and lower school classes in the spring. Last year, SHS members concentrated our fundraising efforts to send school supplies to “Centro San Francisco”, a school in Ponce, Puerto Rico after Hurricane Maria. This year, one of the group’s projects will include raising money for a local organization called “Center of Help” or “Centro de Ayuda” in Annapolis.

Spanish Honor Society President, Lauren Bode ‘19, led the induction ceremony, assisted by fellow officers Parker Booth ‘19 (Vice-president,) Liam Lonergan ’19 (Secretary), Alexandra Walls ‘19 and Sean Lonergan ’19 (Treasurers and Historians), Megan Tempkin ‘19 and Kendyl Underwood ’20 (Class Representatives.) During the ceremony, the 16 new members vowed to help promote the Hispanic language and culture.

Congratulations to the newest members of the Indian Creek Sociedad Honoraria Hispánica: Emma Bach ’20, Madisun Bailey ’20, Mariam Bizri ’20, Olivia Boucher ’21, Mikayla Cutler ’20, Charlotte Dickinson ’21, Ella Fromherz ’21, Sarah Hawes ’21, Melody Kinzer ’21, Levi Kline ’21, Cameron Mona ’21, Sophia Pratt ’21, Tiffany Rains ’21, Ellie Bear Sharma ’21, Sophia Smith ’21, and Helena Warner ’20.