National Art Honor Society Inducts Eight New Members

For 40 years, the National Art Education Association has inspired and recognized students who have shown an outstanding ability and interest in art through its National Art Honor Society (NAHS.) Indian Creek's chapter of the NAHS supports members in their efforts to attain the highest standards in art scholarship, character, and service, and to promote art education to the attention of the school and community. On Thursday, November 29, eight Upper School students took the pledge to appreciate and add beauty to the world around them as they were inducted into the Indian Creek National Art Honor Society.

Chapter President Kendyl Underwood '20, Vice President Ally Snead '19, Secretary/Treasurer Brianna Allen '20, Historian Maeve Drury '19, and Advisor Mrs. Hilary Briles led the induction ceremony in front of the Upper School student body at the All School meeting. Congratulations to new National Art Honor Society members Bryce Akers '19, Parker Booth '19, Megan Bunker '21, Charlotte Dickinson '21, Sarah Mathes '19, Kara Mathews '19, Grace Silver '21, and Colby Williams '19.

The new members will jump right in to a busy holiday season for the NAHS! Art Society members are making and selling hand-made pillows for $10.00.  (Designs are red, green, and black plaid.)  They will also be selling hand-painted holiday ornaments $3.00 - $5.00.  Personal animal ornaments will be hand-painted and they will go anywhere from $8.00 to $10.00. Please see a NAHS member or Art teacher for details.