This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. By continuing to use this website, you consent to our use of these cookies.

Indian Creek Inducts 21 Scholars into National Honor Society

On the evening of Tuesday, November 15, 21 members of the Classes of 2023 and 2024 gathered together with family and faculty for an induction ceremony into the National Honor Society (NHS).

Indian Creek School’s Chapter of the National Honor Society is built on the tenets of Scholarship, Service, Leadership, and Character. To be admitted into the NHS, a student must be a junior or senior with a GPA of 3.7 or above, and have demonstrable examples of excellence in the areas of character, service, and leadership. Students who qualify academically are invited to complete an application which includes a resume and essay. Applications are reviewed and discussed by a five-member faculty panel who assesses each student’s demonstrated initiative in these areas.

During the induction ceremony, the audience was welcomed by National Honor Society Advisor Andrew Colley. NHS officers Elena Tator (President), Delayni Bland (Secretary), Kamrynn Hobbs (Vice President), and Patrick Smith (Treasurer) then described the criteria for membership, invited the new members individually to receive their certificate and pin and sign the log, and led them in the NHS pledge. Upper School teacher Leeann Passaro congratulated the new members and spoke of the importance of their signatures in the NHS logbook. She shared her hope that they will continue to demonstrate stellar character, scholarship, service, and leadership not only throughout their academic careers, but through their entire lives. Finally, Upper School Principal Eliza McLaren shared some real-world examples of individuals (some famous, some lesser-known) who have had great positive impacts on the world through their pursuit of the NHS values. She shared her joy that the group shares the common bond of Indian Creek School and her excitement at seeing what they each accomplish in the years to come. Following the ceremony, the new members, officers, faculty, and families celebrated with a reception in the Grindrod Atrium.

Congratulations to Indian Creek’s newest National Honor Society inductees: Elia Alewine, Logan Barnhill, Ben Bucci, Beth Christie, Aiden Evans, Arnia Goode, Hailey Hochard, Anastasia Malamatis, Aidan McCaughey, Campbell McCormick, Maddie Mixter, Jack Noble, Eliza Owens, Ty Spencer, Kimmy Stevenson, Sam Sussman, Natalie Swope, Ben Tyburski, Hunter Walls, and Nolan Whitney.
Indian Creek school is a co-educational, college preparatory independent school, located in Crownsville, Maryland.  Students in Pre-K3 through grade 12 receive a vibrant educational experience based on excellent academics steeped in strong student-teacher connections.