Spanish Honor Society Inducts 13 New Members

The Spanish Honor Society is a prestigious student association that promotes the study of the Spanish language and culture. Indian Creek's Chapter "“El Círculo del Arbol” was established in 2009, and focuses on building community as a key element of the group. The ICS group offers an activity every year during CREEKfest and also holds a fundraiser for a different cause every year, in addition to other community building events. To become or remain a member of the Spanish Honor Society, students must be currently enrolled in a Spanish class or have reached the AP level. They must also keep a GPA of at least 3.5 and 90% in their Spanish class.

On Friday, December 6, 2019, 13 new members were inducted into this esteemed society. SHS officers Melody Kinzer (President), Arija Martin (Vice-president), Ella Fromherz (Secretary), Lena Werner (Treasurer), Olivia Boucher(Historian), Julianna Cerulli (10th grade representative), Leah Corckran (11th grade representative), and Sean Lonergan (12th grade representative) led a ceremony during the all school meeting where the new inductees took the following vow:
“As a member of the Chapter "El Círculo del Árbol" I promise to devote myself to the study of the Spanish language and culture in order to master it. I promise to remember that a language can be a strong tie between people with different identities and backgrounds. As a global citizen, I promise to promote friendship and understanding both within my community and abroad. This is my promise and my oath. “

The society would like to thank teachers, students and their families for encouraging language learning and fostering understanding between people of different cultures.

Congratulations to the newest members of the Indian Creek School Spanish Honor Society: Leah Corckran, Portia Fernandes, Arija Martin, Naomi Sheppard, Julianna Cerulli, Cade Fanning, Austin Harrison, Christopher Kokoski, Adeline Mock, Havana Mullaly, Gabriella Pardo, Rebecca Streidel and Jamie Woodward.