Outstanding Spring Athletes Honored

On Wednesday, May 29, Indian Creek Upper School students, faculty, coaches, and parents held a special assembly to honor our Outstanding Spring Athletes and celebrate an incredible Spring 2019 season for our Eagles! The successes of the Eagles Varsity Boys Baseball team, the Varsity Boys and Girls Lacrosse teams, Varsity and JV Tennis teams, and Varsity and JV Sailing teams were honored. Athletic Director Tyler Larkin addressed the athletes, expressing his pride in a season where every team made it to at least the semi-final round of the playoffs. He elaborated that this is an incredible feat, considering that a high percentage of the student athletes were also participating in the school musical "Newsies," and also taking multiple AP tests in the weeks leading up to the playoffs. "This is evidence that our Eagles do it all, and do it well."

Students and faculty honored the Varsity Baseball and Varsity Boys Lacrosse teams for each making it to the MIAA Championship games. The student body also honored Sam Tator and Carter Mullin for winning the MIAA Varsity Tennis Individual Championship titles, after going undefeated for the season! Congratulations also went out to Luke Smith '21 for winning the #1 Singles JV Individual Championship title. 

Each coach had the opportunity to share a recap of the season and honor standout players in the categories of Most Improved Player, Most Outstanding Player, and Players' Choice. Congratulations to our Spring 2019 Athletics Award winners:

JV Tennis
Most Improved: Drew Jones '20
Most Outstanding: Charlotte Dickinson '21
Players' Choice: Sophia Smith '21 
Varsity Tennis
Most Improved: Sam Anderson '19
Most Outstanding: Jared Albert '19
Players' Choice: Carter Mullin '19

Varsity Baseball
Most Improved: Logan Harris '22
Most Outstanding: Evan Selmer '21
Players' Choice: Parker Harris '20

Varsity Boys Lacrosse
Most Improved: Aaron Colley '20
Most Outstanding: Sammy Carter '20
Players' Choice: Ryan Davis '19

Varsity Girls Lacrosse
Most Improved: Cali Schwerdtfeger '21
Most Outstanding: Megan Bunker '21 & Sarah Mathes '19
Players' Choice: Kara Mathews '19

Most Improved: Maeve Drury '19
Most Outstanding: Ally Snead '19
Players' Choice: Ted Ginsburg '19

Congratulations Eagles!