Lawrence Fowler '22 Featured in Chronicle of the Horse Magazine as Maryland Horse Show Open Jumper Champion

Indian Creek freshman Lawrence Fowler was featured in the March 2019 issue of The Chronicle of the Horse. Lawrence was recognized as Maryland Horse Show Open Jumper Champion in the division of Open Jumpers riding his horse, My City’s Pride. Lawrence competed in horse shows across the East Coast to earn the MHSA Open Jumper championship. From his winnings, the most prized gift was earning time spent with Olympian champion rider Joe Fargis. Fargis has been called "a leading figure in show-jumping” and received the 2012 Lifetime Achievement Award from the US Equestrian Federation. He has been inducted into the Show Jumping Hall of Fame and has received the USHJA Lifetime Achievement Award. Lawrence enjoyed his time with Mr. Fargis and was invited to ride with him again.

Lawrence participated with Indian Creek’s Equestrian team during the 2017-18 year and learned more about equitation with his ICS trainers Brittany Tice and Debbie Sanders. Both trainers have worked with Lawrence over the last six years, teaching him the fundamentals of riding, along with trainer Lisa Swan. Lawrence feels that ICS has some of the best equestrian trainers in the area as the ICS Equestrian team has worked hard to earn the Interscholastic Horse Show Series championships during the 2017-18 and 2018-19 year. Lawrence stated, “The competition was tough, lots of really great riders from 40+ different schools, and everyone gave their best and worked extremely hard. Our trainers held everyone accountable. Horse showing is never easy especially in very cold conditions. You freeze your butt off and have to memorize courses and steer a 1500 pound horse at the same time.”

Lawrence was elated for the ICS equestrian team earning champion again this year. Although he was not on the team this year, he followed their progress. He stated that, “Special thanks should be given to Nancy Chalkley, Coach/Supervisor of team and Lizzie Chalkley '23, manager of team because they put in a lot of hours to help and support the ICS team.” He sends his congratulations to the 2018-19 ICS team Brianna Allen '20, Tatiana Bachara '20, Simone Brown '20, Micah Ferrell-Rodgers '23, Danielle Heffner '20, Savannah Smith '24, Sierra Stevenson '24, and Rowan Wolod '22. Way to go Lawrence!